Backgrounder
Recovery of Species Listed Under the Species at Risk Act

The purposes of the Species at Risk Act (SARA) are to prevent wildlife species from being extirpated or becoming extinct, to provide for the recovery of extirpated, endangered and threatened species, and to manage species of special concern to prevent them from becoming endangered or threatened.

To deliver on those goals, the Species at Risk Act requires recovery strategies for all endangered species. Recovery strategies identify what needs to be done to stop or reverse the decline of a species. Each recovery strategy sets goals and objectives, identifies critical habitat to the extent possible, and describes the research and management activities that are needed. Strategies are prepared in cooperation and consultation with provincial and territorial governments, wildlife management boards, Aboriginal organizations and stakeholders.

These strategies may cover more than one species which occur in the same geographic area or ecosystem, or which have similar threats. Currently, recovery strategies addressing 105 species at risk have been posted as final or proposed on the Species at Risk Public Registry with 100 recovery strategies moving through various consultation and approval processes. As well, there are currently more than 150 recovery teams made up of experts from the federal-provincial-territorial governments and conservation activists on the ground across Canada working on recovery planning for species and their habitat. New recovery strategies are posted to the registry throughout the year.

Examples of Recovery Strategies:

Among the recovery strategies that have been recently posted on the SARA Public Registry are strategies for the Whooping Crane, the Cucumber Tree, the Swift Fox, and the Aurora Trout. These species highlight examples of Canadian land-based species, aquatic species, migratory birds as well as the geographical spread of the diverse Canadian species within our country.

Whooping Crane

Whooping Crane

The Whooping Crane is a flagship species in the North American wildlife conservation movement and symbolizes the struggle for survival that characterizes many endangered species worldwide. It is a large, distinctive, and photogenic bird, popular with the public and the media, and is often used to illustrate endangered species literature.

Once numbering in the several thousands, the Whooping Crane approached the brink of extinction in the 1940s, when only 21 Whooping Cranes remained in the world. Luckily, these large majestic birds were saved from extinction, and by March 2007, the Canadian migratory Whooping Crane population grew to 237 birds. While on the precarious road to recovery, Whooping Cranes remain listed as an endangered species in Canada and the United States.

Historically, population declines were caused by shooting and destruction of nesting habitat in the prairies as a result of agricultural development. Today, the Whooping Crane remains an endangered species because of its low population numbers, slow reproductive potential due to delayed sexual maturity and limited recruitment into the population, a hazardous migration route traversed twice annually, and many human pressures on the wintering grounds. Current threats to the wild cranes include collisions with human made objects such as power lines, shooting, predators, disease, habitat destruction, severe weather, and a loss of two-thirds of the original genetic diversity. Threats to the captive cranes include disease, accidents, and limited genetic diversity.

The overall recovery goal for the Whooping Crane is to protect, restore, and manage the species to be self-sustaining in the wild, no longer requiring the protections of the Species at Risk Act and the U.S. Endangered Species Act. The long-term recovery goal is to establish 1,000 Whooping Cranes in North America by 2035.

The recovery strategy for the Whooping Crane identifies areas of critical habitat on the breeding grounds within Wood Buffalo National Park. Wood Buffalo National Park is protected under the Canada National Parks Act. To afford the highest level of protection, the breeding habitat is designated as a Special Preservation area. The breeding grounds are also designated as a Wetland of International Importance by the Ramsar Convention and an Important Bird Area by BirdLife International. Because of these designations, the critical habitat is protected from a number of anthropogenic threats.

Among the proposed recovery strategies that have been posted on the SARA public registry for consultation are strategies for the Northern Spotted Owl in British Columbia, the Leatherback Seaturtle, the Barrens Willow in Newfoundland, and the Piping Plover in Prairie Canada. These species highlight examples of Canadian land-based species, aquatic species, migratory birds as well as the geographical spread of the diverse Canadian species within our country.

Cucumber Tree

Cucumber Tree is the only native Magnolia species in Ontario. It is a forest species which can grow to a height of 30 m in its Ontario range. The leaves are large, simple and without teeth. Large greenish-yellow flowers emerge in early summer and are pollinated by beetles and other insects. The tree is named for the slight resemblance of the immature fruit to a cucumber.

Cucumber Tree has a very limited distribution in Canada, occurring in only two areas of southern Ontario. The total number of naturally occurring trees and saplings is currently 283, following recent intensive census and mapping exercises. In addition, over 100 seedlings have been counted most of which occur in one single population. Limited recruitment within their forest habitats has been observed. The threat of landscape fragmentation and small population sizes needs to be better understood to refine recovery actions.

The goal of this recovery strategy is to conserve and if necessary restore Cucumber Tree to self-sustaining populations in both regions of its native Canadian range in extreme southwestern Ontario.

Some of the recovery approaches identified in the recovery strategy, beyond protecting what is there, are dependent on current and future research, to better understand the species pollination biology, seed dispersal, seedling establishment and population genetics. The report outlines and prioritizes research programs necessary to support the implementation of the recovery actions. Critical habitat has been identified for six populations that have ten or more mature trees.

Swift Fox

Swift Fox

Swift foxes are found predominately in short- and mixed-grass prairie areas of North America. Swift foxes were previously extirpated from Canada. As of the 2006 census, a small population of approximately 647 animals has been established in Alberta and Saskatchewan through reintroductions. Animals are successfully breeding in the wild, although the species is potentially at risk from predation and habitat loss.

Major threats to swift foxes include: habitat loss, degradation and fragmentation; predation and competitive exclusion by coyotes and red fox; mortality from vehicles; disease; poisoning and trapping. Changes in climate and associated habitat changes and range shifts also contribute to an uncertain future for swift foxes.

The long-term recovery goal is to restore, by 2026, a self-sustaining swift fox population of 1,000 or more mature, reproducing foxes that does not experience greater than a 30% population reduction in any 10-year period. To assess progress, an additional short-term recovery goal has also been described as follows: ensure a mature, reproducing population of at least 250 foxes by 2012. Partial identification of critical habitat will be completed for the swift fox in an addendum to the recovery strategy, to be completed in 2008.

North Atlantic Right Whale

The North Atlantic Right Whale is a large migratory whale whose known range extends from coastal waters of Florida to the Gulf of St. Lawrence. Historically, whaling reduced the population from its natural levels and while the population has shown some growth in recent years, the estimated number of individuals remains close to 500.

Since whaling ended the most obvious threats that are potentially depressing the growth rate of the North Atlantic right whale population are strikes by vessels and entanglements in fixed fishing gear. There are stewardship measures, such as avoiding areas of whale aggregation, that have helped reduce the threat of vessel strikes in Canadian waters. Habitat degradation may also be contributing to the North Atlantic right whale population’s failure to recover more rapidly.

North Atlantic Right Whale. Credit: National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

The recovery goal is to achieve an increasing trend in population abundance over three generations. In addition, the recovery strategy describes the following seven recovery objectives: to reduce mortality and injury as a result of vessel strikes; to reduce mortality and injury as a result of fishing gear interactions (entanglement and entrapment); to reduce injury and disturbance as a result of vessel presence or exposure to contaminants and other forms of habitat degradation; to monitor population and threats; to increase understanding of life history characteristics, low reproductive rate, habitat and threats to recovery through research; to support and promote collaboration for recovery between government agencies, academia, environmental non-government groups, Aboriginal groups, coastal communities and international agencies and bodies; and to develop and implement education and stewardship activities that promote recovery.

For the North Atlantic right whale, critical habitat was identified to the extent possible, in Grand Manan Basin and Roseway Basin, using the best available information, and provides the functions and features necessary to support the species’ life cycle-processes.

Federal-Provincial-Territorial Cooperation Key to Recovery Plans

The Government of Canada has been working in cooperation with provincial and territorial jurisdictions, wildlife management boards and Aboriginal organizations to prepare recovery strategies that are based on the best available knowledge and that are supported by all parties.

Recovery strategies for species at risk are part of the conservation approach that Canadians want governments to undertake. Conserving Canada's biodiversity is vital to the health of the environment and to Canada's long-term economic prosperity.

The implementation of the Species at Risk Act reinforces the Government of Canada's commitment to ensure the protection for species at risk and their ecosystems. Under the Act, stewardship is the first response to habitat conservation. Protecting species at risk is a shared responsibility by all Canadians. The government is committed to continuing to work with Canadians in implementing the Species at Risk Act.

All Canadians are invited to join the Government of Canada in supporting and implementing recovery strategies for the benefit of individual species and Canadian society as a whole. For individuals interested in helping species at risk, these strategies provide a wealth of information on threats to the species and their recovery needs. Landowners implicated by critical habitat identification are being consulted and are cooperating on critical habitat protection.

More information on the Species at Risk Act, the national recovery program, the Habitat Stewardship Program for species at risk, and on Canada's Strategy for the Protection of Species at Risk, can be found on the Species at Risk Public Registry; or call Environment Canada's Inquiry Centre at: 1-800-668-6767.

Fiche d'information
Rétablissement d'espèces désignées – Loi sur les espèces en péril

Les objectifs de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) du Canada sont d'empêcher la disparition, voire l'extinction, d'espèces sauvages, de rendre possible le rétablissement d'espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées et de gérer les populations d'espèces préoccupantes de façon à empêcher qu'elles ne soient menacées de disparaître.

Favorisant la réalisation de ces objectifs, la LEP exige que l'on dresse pour chaque espèce en voie de disparition un programme de rétablissement, c'est à dire ce qu'il faut faire pour arrêter et même renverser la diminution des populations. Chaque programme de rétablissement contient des buts et objectifs, définit autant que possible l'habitat essentiel et décrit les travaux de recherche et de gestion nécessaires. On le prépare en consultation et collaboration avec le ou les gouvernements provinciaux ou territoriaux en cause, le conseil de gestion de la faune, les organisations autochtones et les autres intéressés.

Un programme de rétablissement peut s'appliquer à plusieurs espèces situées dans la même région ou écosystème ou menacées par des dangers semblables. Le registre public des espèces en péril compte des programmes finals ou proposés pour 105 espèces menacées, et 100 autres en sont à une étape ou l'autre de la procédure de consultation et d'approbation. En outre, plus de 150 équipes d'experts des administrations fédérale, provinciales et territoriales et d'activistes écologiques travaillent à planifier le rétablissement de différentes espèces et de leurs habitats. De nouveaux programmes de rétablissement sont affichés sur le site du registre public de la LEP à longueur d'année.

Exemples :

Récemment, les programmes de rétablissement y ont été ajoutés pour les espèces suivantes : la Grue blanche, le Magnolia acuminé, le renard véloce et l'Omble de fontaine aurora. Ces espèces constituent une bonne représentation des espèces terrestres et aquatiques, des oiseaux migrateurs de notre pays et de la diversité de leurs habitats.

La Grue blanche

La Grue blanche

La Grue blanche est l'une des espèces vedettes du mouvement nord-américain de conservation des espèces sauvages; elle symbolise la lutte pour la survie qui caractérise de nombreuses espèces en voie de disparition dans le monde. On se sert souvent de ce grand oiseau photogénique très prisé par le public pour illustrer des documents sur les espèces en péril.

Ayant déjà compté plusieurs milliers d'individus, la Grue blanche a frôlé la disparition dans les années 1940 : il n'en restait plus que 21 au monde. Heureusement, cet oiseau majestueux a été sauvé de l'extinction : en mars 2007, la population migratrice au Canada avait atteint 237 individus. Toujours sur la voie, précaire, du rétablissement, la Grue blanche reste inscrite comme espèce en voie de disparition au Canada et aux États-Unis.

Historiquement, ce sont la chasse et la destruction des aires de nidification par l'exploitation agricole dans les Prairies qui ont fait décliner le nombre de Grues blanches. L'espèce demeure en voie de disparition à cause de son petit nombre, de son faible potentiel reproductif une maturité sexuelle tardive et d'un faible recrutement à la population, de l'utilisation deux fois l'an d'une voie migratoire dangereuse et de nombreuses contraintes d'origine humaine dans les territoires d'hivernage. Parmi les menaces qui pèsent sur la Grue blanche sauvage, il y a les collisions avec des structures artificielles comme des lignes électriques, la chasse, la prédation, les maladies, la destruction d'habitats, le temps violent et la perte des deux tiers de sa diversité génétique initiale. Les facteurs qui menacent la Grue blanche en captivité comprennent les maladies, les accidents et une diversité génétique limitée.

L'objectif général du rétablissement de la Grue blanche est de la protéger, de la restaurer et de la gérer afin qu'elle devienne autosuffisante à l'état sauvage en Amérique du Nord; elle n'aurait alors plus besoin de la protection de la Loi sur les espèces en péril et de la Endangered Species Act des É. U. L'objectif à long terme : 1 000 Grues blanches en Amérique du Nord d'ici 2035.

Le programme de rétablissement inclut comme habitats essentiels l'aire de reproduction du parc national Wood Buffalo, protégé en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada. On a cherché à protéger cette aire au maximum en la désignant comme zone de conservation spéciale. Elle est aussi désignée comme zone humide d'importance internationale aux termes de la Convention de Ramsar et comme " zone aviaire importante " par BirdLife International. Ces désignations la protègent contre plusieurs menaces d'origine humaine.

Le Magnolia acuminé

Le Magnolia acuminé est la seule espèce indigène du genre Magnolia en Ontario. Essence forestière, il peut atteindre 30 mètres dans son aire de répartition en Ontario. Ses feuilles sont grandes, simples et non dentées. Ses grandes fleurs jaune verdâtre, qui s'épanouissent au début de l'été, sont pollinisées par des coléoptères et d'autres insectes. Le nom commun anglais de cet arbre, Cucumber Tree, est dû à la légère ressemblance du fruit immature avec le concombre.

Au Canada, la répartition du Magnolia acuminé est très restreinte : il n'est présent que dans deux régions du sud de l'Ontario. De récents travaux intensifs d'inventaire et de cartographie ont permis d'établir à 283 le nombre total d'arbres matures et de gaulis à l'état sauvage. En outre, plus de 100 semis ont été recensés, la plupart formant une seule population. Un recrutement modéré a été observé à l'intérieur de l'habitat forestier de l'espèce. Il faudrait mieux comprendre la menace que posent la fragmentation du paysage et la petite taille des populations pour raffiner les mesures de rétablissement.

Le programme de rétablissement vise à assurer la conservation du Magnolia acuminé et, au besoin, à réaménager l'espèce en populations autosuffisantes dans les deux régions de son aire de répartition canadienne naturelle, dans l'extrême sud-ouest de l'Ontario.

Certaines démarches du programme de rétablissement dépassent la simple protection des peuplements actuels et dépendent de recherches en cours ou même futures. En effet, il faudrait connaître mieux la biologie de pollinisation de l'espèce, la dispersion de ses graines, l'établissement des semis et la génétique des populations. Le rapport décrit et priorise les programmes de recherche nécessaires à la mise en œuvre des mesures de rétablissement. Des habitats essentiels ont été déclarés pour six peuplements de dix ou plus de dix arbres matures.

Renard véloce

Renard véloce

Les renards véloces s'observent principalement dans les prairies à herbes courtes et à herbes mixtes d'Amérique du Nord. Ceux-ci étaient disparus du Canada. Lors du recensement de 2006, on a relevé une petite population de quelque 647 individus établie en Alberta et en Saskatchewan à la suite de réintroductions. Ses membres de reproduisent en liberté, bien qu'elle demeure à risque à cause de la prédation et de la perte d'habitat.

Le renard véloce est surtout exposé à la perte, la dégradation et la fragmentation de son habitat; à la prédation et à l'exclusion compétitive de la part du coyote et du renard roux; à la mortalité attribuable aux véhicules; à la maladie; à l'empoisonnement et au piégeage. Les changements climatiques, les modifications de son habitat et les mutations de son aire de répartition menacent également sa survie.

L'objectif à long terme est de rétablir, d'ici 2026, une population viable d'au moins 1 000 individus matures capables de se reproduire, et qui ne devrait pas subir une réduction supérieure à 30 % sur une période de dix ans. Afin d'évaluer l'évolution de ce programme, on a également établi un objectif de rétablissement à plus court terme : d'ici 2010, une population d'au moins 250 individus capables de se reproduire. Dans le cadre de la stratégie de rétablissement, on complétera en 2008 un addenda identifiant en partie l'habitat essentiel du renard véloce.

Baleine noire de l'Atlantique Nord

La baleine noire de l'Atlantique Nord est une grosse baleine migratrice dont l'aire de répartition s'étend des eaux côtières de la Floride jusqu'au golfe du Saint-Laurent. Par le passé, la chasse à la baleine a réduit la population en dessous de ses niveaux naturels et, bien que la population ait connu une augmentation au cours des dernières années, le nombre estimatif d'individus demeure près de 500.

Depuis la fin de la chasse à la baleine, les menaces les plus évidentes susceptibles de diminuer le taux de croissance de la population de baleine noire de l'Atlantique Nord sont les collisions avec des navires et les enchevêtrements dans des engins de pêche fixes. Il y a des mesures d'intendance, comme celles visant à éviter les zones où se regroupent les baleines, qui ont aidé à réduire la menace de collisions avec des navires dans les eaux canadiennes. La dégradation de l'habitat peut aussi contribuer à empêcher la population de baleine noire de l'Atlantique Nord à se rétablir plus rapidement.

Baleine noire de l'Atlantique Nord. Crédit: National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

L'objectif de rétablissement de la baleine noire de l'Atlantique Nord est d'afficher une tendance à la hausse de l'abondance des populations sur trois générations. De plus, le programme de rétablissement décrit les sept objectifs de rétablissement suivants : réduction de la mortalité et des blessures associées aux collisions avec des navires; réduction de la mortalité et des blessures associées aux interactions avec des engins de pêche (enchevêtrement et piégeage); réduction des blessures et de la perturbation associées à la présence des navires ou à l'exposition à des contaminants ainsi qu'à d'autres formes de dégradation de l'habitat; surveillance de la population et des menaces; recherches pour améliorer la compréhension des caractéristiques du cycle biologique, du faible taux de reproduction, de l'habitat et des menaces pesant sur le rétablissement; soutien et promotion de la collaboration pour le rétablissement entre les organismes gouvernementaux, le milieu universitaire, les organisations non gouvernementales de l'environnement, les groupes autochtones, les collectivités côtières et les organismes internationaux; et l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre d'activités d'éducation et d'intendance visant à promouvoir le rétablissement.

Pour la baleine noire de l'Atlantique Nord, l'habitat essentiel a été désigné dans la mesure du possible et à partir des meilleurs renseignements disponibles, dans le bassin Grand Manan et le bassin Roseway, et offre les fonctions et les composantes nécessaires pour soutenir les processus du cycle vital des espèces.

La coopération fédérale-provinciale-territoriale est la clé

Le gouvernement du Canada collabore avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, les conseils de gestion de la faune et les organisations autochtones afin de préparer des programmes de rétablissement qui reposent sur les meilleures connaissances disponibles et que tous les intéressés appuient.

Les programmes de rétablissement font partie des démarches que les Canadiens et Canadiennes veulent voir leurs gouvernements appliquer. Préserver la biodiversité de notre environnement est essentiel à la santé de celui-ci ainsi qu'à la prospérité économique à long terme du pays.

La mise en œuvre de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) renforce l'engagement du gouvernement à assurer la protection des espèces menacées et de leurs écosystèmes. D'après la Loi, l'intendance est la première mesure à prendre pour conserver un habitat. La protection des espèces est une responsabilité qui incombe à tous les citoyens. Le gouvernement est bien résolu à continuer de travailler avec ceux-ci afin d'appliquer la LEP.

Aussi le gouvernement invite-t-il l'ensemble des Canadiennes et Canadiens à s'associer avec lui et à soutenir la mise en œuvre de programmes de rétablissement, pour le bénéfice des espèces et de la société canadienne. Pour les personnes qui voudraient faire quelque chose pour les espèces en péril, les documents sur ces programmes sont des mines d'information sur les dangers et sur les mesures de rétablissement nécessaires. On consulte les propriétaires de terrains touchés par l'identification d'habitats essentiels, et ils coopèrent afin de protéger ces habitats.

Vous trouverez plus d'information sur la LEP, le programme national de rétablissement, le Programme d'intendance de l'habitat pour les espèces en péril et le Programme canadien de protection des espèces en péril sur le Registre public de la LEP; vous pouvez aussi appeler l'Informathèque d'Environnement Canada à 1-800-668-6767.