About the Public Registry

Developed as an online service, the Public Registry has been accessible to the public since proclamation of the Species at Risk Act (SARA). The website gives users easy access to documents and information related to SARA at any time and location with Internet access.

Section 123 of SARA, identifies documents that are required to be published in the Public Registry. Also included are all of the documents specified in various sections of the Act. The following list highlights key documents included in the Registry:

  • regulations and orders made under the Act;
  • agreements entered into under section 10;
  • the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada's (COSEWIC) criteria for the classification of wildlife species;
  • status reports on wildlife species that COSEWIC has had prepared or has received with an application;
  • the List of Wildlife Species at Risk;
  • codes of practice, national standards or guidelines established under the Act;
  • agreements and reports filed under section 111 or subsection 113 (2) or notices that those agreements or reports have been filed in court and are available to the public; and
  • every report made under sections 126 and 128.

A result of the collaborative effort between many partners and stakeholders, the Public Registry is a key tool in supporting public participation in decision making related to SARA. Environment and Climate Change Canada leads development of the Registry, but other organizations such as Fisheries and Oceans Canada and Parks Canada play an important role. More on the responsible authorities >

Note on Accessibility

Some documents on this website, are provided in the Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF). To access these documents, you must first download and install the free Adobe Acrobat Reader.

If you are user with visual disabilities, please visit the following link for tools and information to help make files more accessible. If problems persist, please contact us and an alternative document format will be provided.

À propos du registre public

Mis au point en tant que cyberservice, le registre public est accessible au public depuis la promulgation de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). Le site Web procure aux utilisateurs un accès facile aux documents et aux renseignements relatifs à la LEP en tout temps et à tous les endroits dotés d'un accès à Internet.

L'article 123 de la LEP détermine les documents qui doivent être publiés dans le registre public. Tous les documents mentionnés dans les divers articles de la Loi y sont aussi inclus. La liste suivante met en évidence les documents clés qui se trouvent dans le registre:

  • les règlements et les décrets pris en vertu de la Loi;
  • les accords conclus en application de l'article 10;
  • les critères établis par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) pour la classification des espèces sauvages;
  • les rapports de situation relatifs aux espèces sauvages que le COSEPAC a fait rédiger ou qu'il a reçus accompagnés d'une demande;
  • la Liste des espèces en péril;
  • les codes de pratique et les normes ou lignes directrices nationales élaborées sous le régime de la Loi;
  • les accords et les rapports déposés en vertu de l'article 111 ou du paragraphe 113(2), ou des avis indiquant que ces accords ou ces rapports ont été déposés auprès du tribunal et sont accessibles
    au public;
  • tout rapport établi aux termes des articles 126 et 128.

Le registre public, fruit des efforts de collaboration déployés par de nombreux partenaires et intervenants, est un outil clé pour appuyer la participation du public à la prise de décisions relatives à la LEP. Environnement et Changement climatique Canada est le chef de file de l'élaboration du registre, mais d'autres organismes tels que Pêches et Océans Canada et Parcs Canada y jouent un rôle important. Renseignements supplémentaires sur les autorités responsables >

Note sur l'accessibilité

Certains documents affichés sur ce site Web sont fournis en format Adobe PDF. Pour avoir accès à ces documents, vous devez télécharger et installer le lecteur Adobe Acrobat Reader gratuit.

Si vous êtes un utilisateur ayant une déficience visuelle, veuillez visiter le lien suivant pour obtenir des outils et de l'information permettant de rendre les fichiers plus accessibles. Si les problèmes se poursuivent, veuillez communiquer avec nous, et un autre format de document sera fourni.